Thursday 11 February, 2016
Ogun State Information

Click to View Ogun State Information.

Click for more maps

Ogun State is a state in South-western Nigeria. It borders Lagos State to the South, Oyo and Osun states to the North, Ondo State to the east and the republic of Benin to the west. Abeokuta is the capital and largest city in the state. Ogun has one federal university; the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta , two state government universities; the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye (formerly known as Ogun State University) and the Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) Ijebu Ode. Ogun State thus has the highest number of registered universities in Nigeria (nine in all). Five of the nine universities are private, which include Babcock University - Ilisan-Remo, the first private university in the country. The state has two major government hospitals, the Federal Medical Center, Abeokuta and the Olabisi Onabanjo University Teaching Hospital, Sagamu.

Other cities and towns in the Ogun State are Ijebu Ode, Sagamu, Ijebu Igbo, Ilaro Ayetoro and Ota.

Ogun State Information.